Archive for January 31st, 2008

h1

Verse of the Day

January 31, 2008
“Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. You are my friends if you do what I command. I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.”
John 15:13-15
“The LORD would speak to Moses face to face, as a man speaks with his friend.”
Exodus 33:11
“Abraham believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness, and he was called God’s friend.”
James 2:23
h1

He Calls Me Friend

January 31, 2008
Something that is hard for me to comprehend is that the God who create the vast limitless universe; designed the most complicated systems such as the human body; is beyond time and space; would create US, not as some impersonal piece of matter, but as a friend. A friend. We are fortunate if we go through life with four or five good friends and God is EVERYONES friend. Jesus called His disciples friends. Why, because He spent time with them. He knew them. He wants to do the same with us. If we are going to be a friend of God then we must build a relationship. That doesn’t mean we go to church and thats it. We need to fellowship, worship and hear the word of God but it is still not enough. It doesn’t come by reciting creeds, as good as they are. It doesn’t come by reading about God, although this certainly gives us context. It doesn’t come by simply reading the Bible, although this is not some thing that should be set aside or neglected as it is a big part of relating to God. Friendship with God comes by spending time with Him. It comes through conversation with Him. It comes through an exchange of feelings, thoughts, concerns and aspirations. Try today to carve out some time to be alone with God. Share with Him, tell Him you want His friendship. Listen to Him, wait for Him and enjoy His presence. Start today to spend time with God and build a friendship with Him.
h1

Todays Prayer

January 31, 2008
Father, You know me,  but I must admit, I don’t know you well. I know in my head that you love me but I haven’t sensed a friendship with you in my heart. I want to be your friend. I want to know you in a much deeper and more personal way. Help me to that end. Guide me into a friendship with you I pray. In Jesus Name.
AMEN